How to add, change or remove Prepaid AutoRecharge

Optus AutoRecharge is a service that allows you to register your credit / debit card and set up automated recharges for your Prepaid service.

Get started by clicking on an option below for information on how to set up, change and cancel AutoRecharge:

Note: Low Balance AutoRecharge is only available for selected plans.

Frequency AutoRecharge

Set up

Important! If you decide to change your rate plan, you'll need to manually update your AutoRecharge settings to match your new plan.

Choose how you would like to set up AutoRecharge...

  •  Mobile Phone Only

  •  Mobile Phone & Mobile Broadband

Set Up Frequency AutoRecharge using My Optus app

Apple App Store Download Google Play Store Download

SMS me a direct download link

  1. Open the My Optus app

  2. Tap Recharge

  3. Tap AutoRecharge and follow the onscreen instructions

  4. When prompted, select Frequency

  5. Choose your AutoRecharge start date by selecting either Today or Next Recharge

  6. Once AutoRecharge has been set up, you'll receive a confirmation SMS.

Set Up Frequency AutoRecharge Online

  1. Go to www.optus.com.au/recharge

  2. Enter your Prepaid service number

  3. Do you want to recharge immediately?

    1. Yes: Scroll to Recharge with Credit Card or Debit Card and click Next
      Once you've recharged, follow the steps below to set up AutoRecharge

    2. No: To set up AutoRecharge, scroll to Set up AutoRecharge and click Next

  4. Select the AutoRecharge amount and click Next

  5. Select Frequency

  6. Select your AutoRecharge start date (if applicable)

  7. Choose how you want to receive AutoRecharge notifications by selecting either SMS or Email

    1. Note: If you have a Mobile Broadband service, you'll only be able to receive notifications via email

  8. Follow the onscreen instructions

  9. You'll receive a set up email / SMS (depending on your selected preference). Complete one of the following actions to finalise the set up of AutoRecharge:

    1. If you received an SMS, enter the validation code from the SMS.

    2. If you received an email, click on the link in the email within 48 hours

Back to Top

Change

Using the My Optus app, you can change:

  • when your AutoRecharge is triggered (e.g. low balance or frequency)
  • the number of days between each AutoRecharge (e.g. 28 days)
  • the payment method and card details
  • the recharge amount

Apple App Store Download Google Play Store Download

SMS me a direct download link

Make your changes by following the steps below:

  1. Open the My Optus app

  2. Tap Recharge

  3. Tap AutoRecharge and tap Edit

  4. Tap Change and follow the onscreen instructions

  5. You'll receive an email / SMS to confirm the changes.

Note: To make changes to your AutoRecharge online, you'll have to cancel AutoRecharge and set it up again

Back to Top

Cancel

Important! You'll need to cancel AutoRecharge if you change ownership of your service, you stop using your service, or if your device is lost or stolen.

Choose how you would like to cancel AutoRecharge...

  •  Mobile Phone Only

  •  Mobile Phone & Mobile Broadband

Cancel Frequency AutoRecharge using My Optus app

Apple App Store Download Google Play Store Download

SMS me a direct download link

  1. Open the My Optus app

  2. Tap Recharge

  3. Tap AutoRecharge

  4. Tap Cancel AutoRecharge and follow the onscreen instructions

  5. The cancellation will happen instantly and you'll receive a confirmation email / SMS.

Cancel Frequency AutoRecharge Online

  1. Find your most recent AutoRecharge email / SMS

  2. Click on the cancellation link within the email / SMS

  3. Follow the onscreen prompts

  4. The cancellation will happen instantly and you'll receive a confirmation email / SMS.

If you can't find a recent email or SMS, just get in touch with us.

Back to Top

I've set up AutoRecharge, but I have run out of credit...

If you run out of credit before your AutoRecharge is due, you can manually recharge by applying an Add On or Top Up. Your AutoRecharge will still occur on the scheduled date.

Back to Top

For more information, check out the FAQ's here.

Low Balance AutoRecharge

Set up

Important! AutoRecharge will not be triggered unless your balance reaches the low balance threshold. If AutoRecharge is not triggered before your balance expires, you will lose any rollover credit.

Choose how you would like to set up AutoRecharge...

  •  Mobile Phone Only

  •  Mobile Phone & Mobile Broadband

Set Up Low Balance AutoRecharge using My Optus app

Apple App Store Download Google Play Store Download

SMS me a direct download link

  1. Open the My Optus app

  2. Tap Recharge

  3. Tap AutoRecharge and follow the onscreen instructions

  4. When prompted, select Low Balance

  5. Once AutoRecharge has been set up, you'll receive a confirmation SMS.

Set Up Low Balance AutoRecharge Online

  1. Go to www.optus.com.au/recharge

  2. Enter your Prepaid service number

  3. Scroll to Set up AutoRecharge and click Next
  4. Select the AutoRecharge amount and click Next

  5. Select Low Balance

  6. Choose how you want to receive AutoRecharge notifications by selecting either SMS or Email

    1. Note: If you have a Mobile Broadband service, you'll only be able to receive notifications via email

  7. Follow the onscreen instructions

  8. You'll receive a set up email / SMS (depending on your selected preference). Complete one of the following actions to finalise the set up of your AutoRecharge:

    1. If you received an SMS, enter the validation code from the SMS.

    2. If you received an email, click on the link in the email within 48 hours

Back to Top

Change

Using the My Optus app, you can change:

  • when your AutoRecharge is triggered (e.g. low balance or frequency)
  • the payment method and card details
  • the recharge amount

Apple App Store Download Google Play Store Download

SMS me a direct download link

Make your changes by following the steps below:

  1. Open the My Optus app

  2. Tap Recharge

  3. Tap AutoRecharge and tap Edit

  4. Tap Change and follow the onscreen instructions

  5. You'll receive an email / SMS to confirm the changes.

Note: To make changes to your AutoRecharge online, you'll have to cancel AutoRecharge and set it up again.

Back to Top

Cancel

Important! You'll need to cancel AutoRecharge if you change ownership of your service, you stop using your service, or if your device is lost or stolen.

Choose how you would like to cancel AutoRecharge...

  •  Mobile Phone Only

  •  Mobile Phone & Mobile Broadband

Cancel Low Balance AutoRecharge using My Optus app

Apple App Store Download Google Play Store Download

SMS me a direct download link

  1. Open the My Optus app

  2. Tap Recharge

  3. Tap AutoRecharge

  4. Tap Cancel AutoRecharge and follow the onscreen instructions

  5. The cancellation will happen instantly and you'll receive a confirmation email / SMS.

Cancel Low Balance AutoRecharge Online

  1. Find your most recent AutoRecharge email / SMS

  2. Click on the cancellation link within the email / SMS

  3. Follow the onscreen prompts

  4. The cancellation will happen instantly and you'll receive a confirmation email / SMS.

If you can't find a recent email or SMS, just get in touch with us.

Back to Top

For more information, check out the FAQ's here.